Reviews

The following are a small selection of Reviews taken from our HomeAway site -https://www.homeaway.co.uk/p807780#reviews

 

"Brilliant Escape to Countryside"

 03 June 2016
This beautiful cabin is well-furnished and well-equipped with all (and even more) you can think you would need for a break. It is a modern and very cosy place with heating, if needed, WI-FI, TV, radio, etc. Easy to be accessed by a car, a parking is located just outside of the cabin. The location is stunning, away from any noise and still close enough to the sea. It was so lovely to wake up to the birds' singing and having a morning tea on the terrace. Rog, the owner/manager, was very responsive to the emails and when we arrived the complimentary gifts were waiting for us. Our stay was very pleasant and if I ever plan to stay in South Devon, I will definitely stay in this cabin again. Already recommended to a few friends!

"A beautiful, peaceful, picturesque home from home".

03 March 2016
We had everything we needed and more, from a dishwasher to bird nuts. We watched an array of birds feeding just inches away from our window. We saw lambs gamboling across the hill opposite the lodge, we had clear nights and were able to star gaze which was spectacular. Bantham beach was 1 mile away by car , looking beautiful at 7 a.m walking dogs in the sunshine. The lodge is very clean, well maintained with upto date equipment, and very comfortable. A great place to re-charge your batteries. We would recommend Toad Hall to all age ranges and found it a very safe place to stay as it is off the beaten track although in a valley with 4/5 other similar lodges. Go to The Sloop pub down the road- excellent food and a good crowd of locals/ holiday makers.

"Fantastic hidden Holiday Beach House"

 15 August 2015
Lovely summer 10 days away in beach house. Owner Rog couldn't have been more helpful. Local beach at Bantham is fantastic, as is the Local Pub the Sloop Inn. Great facilities and WIFI with land line phone to combat poor mobile signal. kids loved the DVD collections for "chillout" days/evenings and we could sit outside and enjoy the last of the sunshine with a bottle of wine (or two!). Large supermarket to stock up 10 mins away in Kingsbridge - thoroughly recommend and would be very happy to go back next year. Most beaches do accept dogs during the summer. Bantham has a restriction on the main beach but does have a "separate" area that is fine just further round, so next time will definitely be bringing ours. Thanks again for a great stay!

 

"Exactly as described. Perfect relaxing hideaway"

Mar 2014

A stay as Toad Hall was just what the Dr ordered when we came in late spring this year. There literally everything we needed at the cabin and then some. Its really nicely finished and laid out. We took our Labrador, Milo, with us for the week - he also had an excellent time!
It was lovely being so close to the beach and so far away from civilisation. No phone signal, but the wifi worked well enough to be in contact with the outside world on the rare occasion that we wanted to!
The surrounding areas are just beautiful. Such picturesque part of the country, we went on walk after walk and we never tired of the views ad Milo never tired of exploring or bounding around in the sea.
Whilst we were there we went for Sunday lunch at the Sloop Inn just down the road in Bantham itself and over to Salcombe to the Winking Prawn, which was excellent. Also spent an afternoon in Totnes exploring all the wonderful little shops.
All in all, a lovely spring break. I'd definitely recommend to anyone in need of a little rest and relaxation

"Perfect place to get away from it all"

Sep 2013

This is a perfect little cabin nestled within the beautiful green pastures of South Devon. To the front you can sit on the decking and just watch the birds feeding or cattle grazing. Inside we enjoyed the comfort of the cabin. It was so cozy,even in the rain with nothing to do except a good book and pint of Tribute. It was also very clean and had everything needed to be a home from home. The cabin itself is only a mile or so from the beautiful beach and we walked for miles along the S.W coastal path before returning for a much rewarding drink and bite to eat at the Sloop Public House. We cannot recommend this cabin enough and hope to return again in the future.

"Toad Hall"

Oct 2013

We stayed at Toad Hall for the first time last weekend - it was a real treat. The place was perfect for our family (two adults and a two year old) although it would suit four just as well. The property is a gem. Very well appointed, clean, tidy and comfortable with absolutely everything you could need if you happened to be unlucky with the weather. The cabin is in a very peaceful spot and we slept like logs for the first time in ages. The owner was very helpful and friendly too.

We had never been to this area of Devon before but we now realise we have been missing out. Staying for such a short time we had limited time to explore but can heartily recommend the beautiful Bantham bay and Salcombe. We shall certainly be back to discover what else we have been missing out on.

"Fantastic accommodation and location"

Aug 2013

Having visited this area of Devon for many years we knew the area very well and were not disappointed with the location of Toad Hall. The cabin is set in beautiful grounds surrounded by open and safe places which our children (and dog!) enjoyed exploring.
We found Toad Hall to be exactly as described and it was extremely well equipped and clean. It had everything we needed (and more!) and we found the accommodation very quiet, comfortable and relaxing. It was very useful to have the enclosed garden area for our dog too. The information folders in the cabin provided us with useful tips too.
We purchased a weekly parking pass for Bantham beach as the beach was quite far to walk to...costing £20 to avoid the £5 daily charge and we were able to take the dog onto part of the beach which was a bonus.
Other places visited included: The Sloop Inn (excellent food), Salcombe, Blackpool Sands (shingle but excellent cafe), Dartmouth, Thurlestone Hotel (walk from Bantham - Thurlestone) for a cream tea. Loads more to visit but not enough time...we'll be back! Thanks very much for a great holiday!

"Toad Hall 10 / 10 "

Jul 2013

What first struck me about Toad Hall was the remote location at the bottom of a small valley, ideally located a mile from the beach, and when your caught up in the hustle and busel of modern life finding somewhere to fully relax and enjoy the peace and quiet is hard.

Caravan holidays offer some home comforts but you are all clustered together and hiding for privacy behind net curtains, Toad Hall looked like a perfect retreat and something different to the norm.

Toad Hall upon arrival was everything I wanted it to be, the setting is beautiful and the Cabin is like something we would all dream of owning ourselves with lots of space for the kids to play without having to worry about what they might get up to.

It wasn't just the outside of the cabin and the setting which fitted the bill but also the decor and facilities the Cabin provided, it is obvious that the owners have gone to great lengths to provide a true home from home experience with decor from NEXT and local Art on the walls it looked like something from Ideal Home magazine.

The Beach is a little to far to walk it laden with kids stuff but a weekly carpark ticket can be purchased for £20 which made a great saving, the area itself is a place of astounding natural beauty and I fully recommend an early walk along the estuary to the beach, if your a keen fisherman it's a great spot, or take the kids crabbing they will love it.

The Large Tesco in Kingsbridge a 15 minute car journey away will have you well stocked for the week and although a small town has a a number of beautiful shops and makes a nice change from the Beach mid week, Torquay is a good 45 minute drive and I thoroughly recommend Kents Caverns, be sure to drive down the coast road to Slapton Sands you wont regret it.

All in All a remarkable find and very glad I made it too, Toad Hall see you next year!

We would have no hesitation in recommending Toad Hall to any of our friends or family.

"Peaceful and very comfortable "

Apr 2013

Toad Hall is in a wonderful, peaceful location in a beautiful green valley within walking distance of the beach. We enjoyed watching the birds from the veranda and generally made the most of the peace and quiet.

A key attraction of the cabin for us was that you can have several nice walks straight from the front door, with a variety of lovely routes to the beach and beyond. The owners have helpfully provided a number of maps to aid your explorations.

The cabin is lovely inside, nicely decorated with some great photographs/maps on the walls - much nicer than your average 'generic holiday home' decor. The high quality furnishings, cleanliness and the fact that the place warmed up quickly on chilly evenings made for a very comfortable stay.

The cabin itself is very well-equipped, with more than enough pans, crockery etc. The new induction hob makes cooking a breeze and the outdoor decking area with valley views would be great in warmer weather (still too chilly in April for al fresco dining!).

The local area is incredibly beautiful, with lovely local towns and villages to explore and some amazing coastal walks. We enjoyed super fish and chips at the Start Bay Inn at Torcross and an afternoon tea with a (stunning) view at Gara Rock.

I would certainly recommend Toad Hall to anyone after a comfortable, peaceful stay in a great location for exploring the South Hams.

"Lovely cabin in a lovely place "

Apr 2013

We really enjoyed our short stay at Toad Hall last weekend. Cabin is lovely - comfortable; cosy; tastefully decorated and everything you need. We felt very relaxed, dogs included. Surprisingly efficient heating which warmed the place up really quickly. We booked rather last minute; I sent an email late one evening and I had a response next morning from the owner Roger and all was booked and sorted with ease.

Nearby Bantham beach is beautiful and a wonderful place to walk the dogs. We walked across the field and through the village to get there. We treated ourselves to a meal at The Sloop on our first evening (Thursday) having read other comments that it becomes very busy at the weekend. Very tasty meal and good atmosphere inside. We catered for ourselves the following evenings, the kitchen was very well equipped and loved the peace and quiet and countryside surroundings. One of the reasons we chose Toad Hall was it's proximity to the beach yet set in the countryside.

Pretty flowers were fresh for our arrival and a bottle of rose and chocolate cookies. We admired the decor and all was clean and well cared for - the owners say they love their cabin and you can see why. We wanted a restful stay so just paid a short visit to Hope Cove and Salcombe where we had a cream tea at the Winking Prawn. We would like to see more of the area and try more walks another time.

Definitely would recommend.

 

"PERFECT! "

Mar 2013

What a fantastic week we have just had, it was everything we wanted and expected and more! The cabin is beautiful, so clean & homely and brilliantly equipped with everything we needed for cooking ect. Perfect location as we felt totally isolated with just the sheep for company yet in reality you were just a 10 minute drive from some lovely towns where we would go for coffee & cake and only 17 from Plymouth where we spend a day shopping. The sloop pub down by the beach (2min drive -lazy I know but I am pregnant & the hill is steep haha) is a must! The food is I think THE best pub food I have ever tasted. The portions are HUGE and the price is very reasonable! We took this break for our anniversary and also a 'babymoon' I think they call it, basically our last get away together before our first baby arrives in August. We just wanted a relaxing week, lie ins, walks on the beach and enjoying good food....that is exactly what we got, we honestly didn't want to come home!! We will absolutely be back and hope this little Devon hideaway will be our boys 1st summer holiday next year!

Thank yo Roger & family for sharing your wonderful cabin with us...oh & thank you for the flowers chocolates & wine on our arrival, so kind of you! We can't wait to be back.

"Toad hall birthday celebrations "

Mar 2013

We arrived at toad hall late and dark to a lovely warm cabin with a bottle of wine and biscuits.
We chose Toad hall as it was near my parents in Staverton, and we were celebrating my partners 40th birthday.
We had a delicious meal at the sloop inn which is a lovely traditional rural pub and good value too.
We arrived on the Friday night and were delighted to wake up to such beautiful countryside.
Toad hall is a lovely little cabin with everything you could need for young and old.its clean and tidy and our dog was secure in the little secured garden as he has little vision left now.
Roger the owner replied to every email and rang me up for an accurate weather report which is a great touch.
Can I recommend Milton sands and the beach hut for great food and views.

Kind regards Roger we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will come back for sure.

"Our stay at Toad Hall "

Feb 2013

We've just had a lovely stay at Toad Hall. It was ideally located - close enough to Kingsbridge, and all the facilities it has to offer, but also close enough to Bantham beach for lovely dog walks.
Set in a peaceful valley, Toad Hall has lovely outdoor space to enjoy the views - even in the rain we sat outside on the veranda with a coffee in the mornings whilst the dogs could amble round the small enclosed garden.
The cabin gave us space and privacy and was very cosy. It was really well equipped - we've stayed in many self-catering cottages over the years and Toad Hall is certainly up there as one of our favourites. It's obvious the owners really care about the property, they had thought of everything - from hand soap to sharp kitchen knives. Everything was also spotless, with great additional extras like playstation and guidebooks. The owners were really helpful, responsive on email and able to answer any queries or questions we had.
Nearby Bantham beach is brilliant for dog walking (dog restrictions in the summer, but still plenty of beach for them to run about on), and there's good coast path walks too from Bantham. The Sloop in Bantham is good for a bite and a pint (though busy at weekends). Kingsbridge has all the facilities you'd need, with supermarkets and lovely little individual shops, fishmongers etc in the high street. The Crabshell Inn in Kingsbridge is lovely for an evening meal.
Would recommend this property to people wanting peace and quiet yet with all the modcons of home. In fact, it was so lovely we've booked to go back later in the year!